I don’t have the wisdom of the world.

I’ve not studied medicine in college–nor plan to.  What I do have is a few years experience.

I still  sometimes wake exhausted feeling (some days-even weepy).  Not sure why–but even in taking all the right hormones to balance things out–I’m still just me.  Walking with HIM.  (Jesus)  And, honestly, it’s only in that walk can I be changed…helped…because I then see–it’s not about me.

Hormones cause us to focus on “US”.  Way-way-way too much.  Or, it does me.

When the sweat breaks out–I think– “OH MY GOSH! Would SOMEBODY turn on the air-conditioner!  OR THE FAN! For crying out loud–get out from in front of the VENT!  YOU are blocking the air!

I hate it in my own self and others.  Jeff and I talked recently of what we see in the world… “self-absorption”.  Unfortunately, it has entered the church.  Actually, it was always there–it’s just more prevalent, because people are now made to think that “everything is okay”. Hey, my mother taught me–it is NOT okay.

Best that I not get started there.  I am learning.  Every day I learn more about myself…my faults (and they are many) and God nudges me to “think right”.

 Hide thy face from my sins, and blot out all mine iniquities.  Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.  Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me.  Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.  Psalm 51:9-11

In looking back at the last few years, I’m learning when it is best to keep my mouth shut.  (Often)  And when to talk.  When to confront and when just let sleeping dogs lie.

I have learned that there are people who need our help, people who don’t want our help, and there are those who make a living from holding cardboard signs by the interstate “asking” for help.

For those who need our help, it’s better for them to not “over do”.  As I learned growing up, my mother taught me how to do certain things, then she let me do it.  If I made a mistake, I learned from it.  It’s best all the way around.  If we keep doing and doing and doing for our kids, we damage them into thinking “someone always will”.

Truth is, someone always won’t.  An employer won’t.  A spouse won’t.  Best not to get that started.  I’m not wise and all knowing in the area of raising kids.  My husband and I have raised two.  But not without Help.

Not social help (as in the government).  But heavenly Help (as in The Lord Jesus Christ, Who is continually by my side).  And we made PLENTY of mistakes.  Still make some. But there is a big thrill to watch our kids become parents and see them in action…yes, making mistakes of their own, but also getting the main things right.

Why did I get started on kids?  Who knows! That is what hormones will do –you start at one end of the house cleaning and get sidetracked straightening pictures on the wall, then suddenly remember the box of photos not in the photo book and get distracted looking at old pictures and reminiscing at how fast the kids have grown then remember how hard it was raising them through the teenage years then…. oh, wait.  Did that just happen?

Like I said….no worldly wisdom here…and it’s a LONG climb~2014-03-22 01-Jeff-Me GOLF-Camping 2014 008

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(c) Angie Knight 2014.  All rights reserved.

